SWUFE & CDAR 2021 convened on July 17-18, 2021, in Chengdu, China


2021 is destined to be extraordinary. China’s economy has shown great resilience and growth momentum in recovering from the impact of the COVID-19. In the first year of China’s 14th Five-Year Plan, China has embarked on a new journey to fully build a modern country. Under the new development pattern, SWUFE & CDAR 2021 will review the history of fintech development, analyze the status of fintech industry, and look forward to the brilliant prospects of technology development in helping financial service entities, risk management, and digital and green economy in China. The Symposium will bring together cross-cutting experts from the academia and the industry in finance and technology, and government and regulatory leaders to share their in-depth insights into current China’s Fintech industry and the future.

SWUFE & CDAR 2021, presented in partnership with Chengdu Municipal Financial Regulatory Bureau, convened on July 17-18, 2021 in Chengdu. The SWUFE & CDAR Symposium has been successfully held thrice, with the participation of 1997 Nobel Laureate Robert Merton, 2013 Nobel Laureate Lars Hansen, 2001 Nobel Laureate George Akerlof, Professor Zhiwu Chen and Professor Xiaoqiu Wu etc. This year the invited speakers include 2003 Nobel Laureate Robert Engle, Mr. Yanli Zhou, former vice chairman of China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission and Professor Maurice Obstfeld, former chief economist of International Monetary Fund.

The Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE) is a top university specialized in finance, economics, and business. SWUFE joined the Consortium for Data Analytics in Risk (CDAR) as a founding member in 2015. CDAR supports research in data science and its applications to portfolio management and risk management. Based in the Economics and Statistics Departments at UC Berkeley, CDAR was co-founded with State Street, Stanford, Berkeley Institute for Data Science (BIDS).



 Robert F.Engle

American economist and econometrician, the Michael Armellino Professor of Finance at New York University Stern School of Business, won the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in 2003 for his research on the theory of autoregressive conditional heteroscedasticity (ARCH) as statistical methods for economic time series. His ARCH model and its generalizations have become indispensable tools not only for researchers, but also for analysts in the financial markets.


 Yanli ZHOU

Member of the national committee of CPPCC, former vice chairman of China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission.


 Maurice Obstfeld

Former chief economist of the IMF, the Class of 1958 Professor of Economics at UC Berkeley. Professor Obstfeld was a Member of President Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers. He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has joined the Peterson Institute for International Economics in Washington, D.C., as a nonresident senior fellow.